Automate Videosync a/v output recording?

I see that the good people at OBS have devised an OSC listener/controller. As Ableton has OSC capability, this could be a great tool for automating start/stop OBS a/v output recording from within an Ableton/Videosync project.

I don’t have the know-how for this but I’m trying. I think there may be others who can implement this faster and more efficiently…?

For as long as OBS is supported this seems a great way for a/v software to record output so the software designers can focus on the more important functions.

1 Like

Hey Rob! Thanks for sharing this! Have you tried LiveGrabber already? It’s a bundle of Max for Live devices we offer for free that can send and receive OSC messages. I think all you’d need to set this up are the GrabberSender and the SongGrabber devices.

1 Like

ah very cool. I was just starting out with the onboard ‘OSC Send’ in Ableton, and feeling a bit lost, but this looks super useful. I am a hapless amateur, but I’ll give it a go…

Please let us know if you got it to work and if you’re pleased with the results!

Yes. I have the websocket plugin working with a green light that tells me I’m connected to OBS,

wasn’t sure how to enter the “startRecording” command into the devices, so I tried the Single Note Grabber and entered “startRecording” in the address:

Screenshot 2024-01-29 at 14.37.45

and used the Grabber Sender to direct this to 127.0.0.01 Port 3333:

Screenshot 2024-01-29 at 14.38.02

…this is probably wildly wrong, but i can’t figure another way. And it works. Please give feedback, as single note commands are not very convenient…

i’m thinking this would be a good way to automate live streaming, too

That’s awesome! You seem to be using LiveGrabber just fine and correctly :slight_smile: .